We’ve Met Russia for the First Time

We’ve arrived! All three of us (me, my wife and our little Jack Russell Max) arrived safely in Moscow after a very hectic nearly 20 hours of traveling. But we made it and that’s what matters. Now it’s time get to down to the hard stuff – defining what this blog is really for and what I’m going to post to it. My instant instinct when blogging while overseas is to treat it purely like a travel blog, a somewhat comical look at the adventures and craziness encountered when traveling to new cities and countries. But something always happens to me when I write posts of that sort. Something that feels oh-so-right at first but always ends up for the worse in the end. I write and I write and I write. And then I write some more. And then after about a week or so, I get tired of writing so much and I start to resent the amount of time it takes up while trying to explore. So I stop writing half way through the trip and I give up. That sucks and I don’t want that to happen to this blog, so I’m changing formats. That and the fact that only a handful of people in this world (pretty much just my Mom, maybe my wife, and probably my travel buddy Claire) would ever take the time to actually read such hastily written novellas.

The format is simple; quick bursts of thought, comparisons of culture, snapshots of the country and maybe a few short stories thrown in. But the keyword is short. And frequent, I want continuous content to hopefully hold the ongoing interest of the average tiny attention span of the modern American. But then this post is so long, I’ve probably already lost those people.

I hope to introduce present day Russia to Americans, and present day America to Russians…one short post at a time.

On with the posts! 

Categories: Uncategorized | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “We’ve Met Russia for the First Time

  1. Mary

    …and my good friend Mary will ready my blog religiously!

  2. you better believe your travel buddy claire is reading!

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.